MONOPOLY – the most popular board game in the world where every player can become the ultimate Mr. MONOPOLY by tossing dices and buying houses. Since 1935, MONOPOLY has been distributed to over 114 countries, translated to more than 47 languages, sold more than 300 million sets and has over 1 billion players worldwide.

As one of the celebrations of MONOPOLY 85th anniversary, “MONOPOLY 85th Anniversary Hong Kong Championship” will be held in 2021. A Champion will be born after a total of 8 weeks’ competition, who will win the unique trophy and cash prize HK$20580 – equivalent to the total amount in a classic MONOPOLY game! Besides, there will also be a “MONOPOLY 85th Anniversary World Championship Family Fun Game” for family to discover the joy and happiness of being a MONOPOLY!

You may find registration details in the following link.

The first MONOPOLY World Championship took place in 1973 at Grossinger's Catskill Resort Hotel, New York where four representatives across US and UK took part. Currently, there are over 30 countries taking part and representatives are sent from all around the world to compete for the title of MONOPOLY Hong Kong Champion!

Now, let's scroll through the previous MONOPOLY World Championship history here:

Year MWC Champion Location
15th 2021 Champion will reveal in 2021! MONOPOLY DREAMS, The Peak Galleria, Hong Kong
14th 2015 Nicolò Falcone, Italy The Venetian, Macau
13th 2009 Bjørn Halvard Knappskog, Norway Caesars Palace, Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
12th 2004 Antonio Zafra Fernandez, Spain Roppongi Hills Mori Tower, Tokyo, Japan
11th 2000 Yutaka Okada, Japan Royal York Hotel, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
10th 1996 Christopher Woo, Hong Kong Hotel Loews Monte-Carlo, Monte Carlo, Monaco
9th 1992 Joost van Ordern, The Netherlands Grand Hotel Esplanade, Berlin, Germany
8th 1988 Ikuo Hyakuta, Japan Park Lane Hotel, London, England
7th 1985 Jason Bunn, United Kingdom Claridge Casino Hotel, Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
6th 1983 Greg Jacobs, Australia The Breakers Hotel, Palm Beach, Florida, USA
5th 1980 Cesare Bernabei, Italy Southampton Princess, Bermuda
4th 1977 Cheng Seng Kwa, Singapore Hotel de Paris, Monte Carlo, Monaco
3rd 1975 John Mair, Ireland Loews L'Enfant Plaza, Washington, D.C., USA
2nd 1974 Alvin Aldridge, USA St. Regis Sheraton, New York, USA
1st 1973 Lee Bayrd, USA Grossinger's Catskill Resort Hotel, New York, USA